4 Reasons to Add Oats to Your Gluten-Free Diet
Are oats safe to eat if you’ve been diagnosed with Celiac disease or have a sensitivity to gluten? Is oatmeal a safe wheat-free option? For most people, the answer is “yes.” Pure oats don’t contain gluten, even though it’s a whole grain. Whole grains that do contain gluten used in a wide variety of breads, pastas, cereals, and other foods include barley, wheat, and rye.
But before you rush out to buy some oats to add to your gluten-free or Celiac diet, there is a low-risk chance for some oats to contain gluten.
For example, if the oats were processed in a plant with other foods that contain gluten, it could be contaminated. Or if the oats were grown in a field near crops of barley, wheat, and rye, they might be contaminated.
But in most cases, people with a gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease did not experience adverse side-effects from eating such a minimal amount of gluten. One recent study found that only 8 percent of people with a gluten allergy experienced negative side effects from eating oats.
If you are going to eat oats, start with a small amount. Pay attention to any negative side effects (gas, bloating, constipation, diarrhea, etc.). If there aren’t any, oats are probably safe to eat for you in small amounts. And that’s a good thing, because oats can be good for your health in at least five ways.
1. As a whole grain, oats help control cholesterol and prevent the risk for a heart attack or stroke.
2. Oats are high in fiber, which helps improve digestion and aids in weight management.
3. Oats contain a type of antioxidant that can help control blood pressure and reduce inflammation.
4. Eating fiber-rich foods like oats, takes longer to digest. That means oats can help regulate and control blood sugar levels.
Oats are a gluten-free food, and these are just a few of the health benefits they provide. It’s a quick-and-easy breakfast food. And there are many other tasty, and healthy foods you can enjoy with our gluten-free meal delivery service.