Some People with Celiac Disease Can Stomach a Beer
Take a look at the ingredients in a typical beer, and you'll likely see barley, wheat or rye. A starch source is one of the main ingredients used to make beer, along with water, brewer's yeast, and a long list of traditional and creative flavorings, and of course secret recipes.
But if you have Celiac disease, your number one dietary goal is likely to avoid gluten at all costs. It can wreak havoc on your digestive system, cause bouts of stomach discomfort and diarrhea, and lead to serious health problems. Is beer completely off the table, or can you drink it without adverse side effects linked to your sensitivity to gluten?
That's a good question. It appears that some people diagnosed with Celiac disease can drink beer without experience a reaction to gluten. Italian researchers recently monitored a man with Celiac disease for four weeks. He regularly drank beer that contained gluten during this study period, but never developed any symptoms or measurable changes in clinical markers.
Why? It's hard to give a definitive answer. But there are certain factors that may be at play in this case. First, people with Celiac disease each have their own unique response to gluten. Different levels of gluten sensitivity can influence immune system response and intestinal health. In addition, the fermentation process breaks down gluten in starch sources, possibly making them easier to digest, even for those with Celiac disease or a sensitivity to gluten.
Even though many people with Celiac disease report they can drink beer without experiencing negative side effects, you may not want to experiment with this. And you don't have to. Fortunately, many brewers now make gluten-free beers from starch sources like millet, rice, and buckwheat.
That means you may still be able to enjoy a cold beer, even if you have Celiac disease. And you'll need some good food to go with that. So before you pop open a cold one, check out the meals our Gluten-Free customers enjoy and place an order.